White Linen Kaftan – Vintage Vogue 8734

Ivona 13

Being a child of the seventies, I do love a kaftan of almost any style. This tunic-style one caught my attention while checking out Etsy patterns and I had a beautiful white linen in my huge stash that I though would go perfectly with version C of the pattern, with the addition of the split from version D. So that was my sewing intention. I really like the raglan sleeve cut and the way the sleeve is folded over just above the elbow.

1Vogue 87342Vogue 8734

Ivona 9

As with most of my sewing projects these days, I have underlined this dress too. I used a white cotton voile, to just give it a little more body and also to stop it from being see through. I have also overlocked the edges to stop them from fraying. There is no zip in the pattern and no buttons, so it was supposed to be very straight forward (my kind of dress – or so I thought!).

DSC_0768

I got a little too excited too soon about this dress not having a zip, because when I had sewn it up and put it on, despite having cut a vintage size 10, as usual, the dress and the sleeves were both too wide and baggy for my taste. So after taking in the sleeves and shortening them somewhat to just above the elbow (a lot of shortening until I got the right length), it was time to take it in the waist. After taking it in and trying it on again and again, I decided to put a long invisible zip in the back, as I was not able to put it on over my head anymore after all! So that was that with the zipless dress!

Ivona 14

Overall, I am very happy with the outcome. Even though linen creases quite easily, the kaftan really is beautiful to wear and can be dressed up or down with accessories. I could also imagine it being made in a beautifully printed silk and wearing it to an evening do.

DSC_0730

I have styled it with the same accessories in various ways. It’s amazing how much you can do by changing the accessory use around or even changing the type and/or colour of accessories for an item of clothing to completely vary its appearance. The 70s head scarf is probably my favourite, worn with big sunglasses. But a big, floppy hat or the scarf worn as a bandana or around the waist also look great. Even wearing the hat over the scarf looks quite good. The possibilities are endless!

DSC_0747

DSC_0710

Ivona 11

DSC_0728

DSC_0809

DSC_0821 DSC_0765

Thank you to Meg for being my photographer again! She was amazing despite the millions of mozzies around us during the photo shoot!

DSC_0795

Photography: meggi-design

Styling: Hat: Myer (no name brand), Sunglasses: Margot by Tom Ford, Scarf: H&M, Necklace, Silver Ring and Shoes: Apart (German Fashion label), Bracelet: Mother’s Day gift from my boys, Silver Ring With Teal Stone: Queen Victoria Market, Melbourne.

Leave a Reply

