Vintage Vogue Laroche 1951

DSC_2885 - Copy (2)

Hi everyone! This week I am posting a dress I made a while back but not yet blogged. It’s a vintage Vogue Paris Original Laroche and one of my favourite vintage patterns in my collection.

Laroche 1951 Pattern

And because I loved the way it looked on the envelope, I made mine in the same colour and gave it a similar look. I used a white cotton sateen from Spotlight for the dress, a white polyester organza from my stash for underlining and white polyester lining also from my stash. In hindsight, I think I could have used a silk organza for the underlining and a white silk for lining, but I have to say, it doesn’t take away from the dress having a good shape by using the synthetic fabrics mixed with the cotton.

DSC_2818 (2) Copy

I really had to follow the instructions to the letter to construct this dress, as some parts were made up differently as to how I would have done them. The construction entailed a lot of exact sewing, especially in the back because the two back straps have to match up to pull the whole thing off correctly. They are actually not joined to the dress on the sides but are sewn onto the back of the dress. So there is a tiny gap visible on the sides between the straps and the main part of the dress, which wasn’t visible to me on the envelope. That was a bit tricky, but turned out well with some patience, as sewing always does! My verdict: anyone with a lot of patience can sew!

DSC_2898 - Copy (2)

DSC_2933

I was going to use a white ponte knit for this dress but couldn’t find one in time and had the cotton sateen lying around, so whatever fabric I was going to use, it was going to be white. I think it looks like a real 60s space age dress in white! The pattern I used was size 10, which is usually my size, but I had to take in the front side panel seams a little, as I found they were sticking out a bit, even though I copied all the markings from the pattern onto the cut out fabric as exactly as possible. I also had to take in the bust seams a tiny bit.  I underlined the collar just like the rest of the dress but unfortunately find that it has a wave in the top part :-(. I may have to shorten it or use some fabric stiffener to keep it straight! But all in all, a very good fit. There was also a bit of hand sewing at the end to put the back straps into place. I used an invisible slipstitch to do that and not being much into visible zips (unless it’s supposed to be a feature), I put in an invisible one in.  

DSC_2722

DSC_2793 DSC_2829

I loved the brooch on the pattern envelope and bought a vintage-looking one at one of my favourite fabric stores before it closed down to style the dress. Short white gloves would look amazing with it, just like on the pattern, but I don’t have short white ones, so I used my white boots to make up for it (!) to give the overall look a modern 60’s twist.

This is an absolute classic cut for a 60’s summer dress with the cut-away armholes, high neck and slight A-Line skirt. At the same time, I think it is timeless and can be worn today without looking like too much of a 60’s overload if it is styled with current accessories and shoes.

DSC_2941

DSC_2956 (2)

DSC_3015 (2)

DSC_3069

DSC_3077 (2)

I will finish off this post with some beautiful street wall art as it is called and not graffiti! This alleyway (Hosier Lane and Rutledge Lane) in Melbourne between Flinders Street and Flinders Lane is definitely worth a visit if you ever come to Melbourne. It has a grungy old warehouse feel to it from a bygone manufacturing period. You can actually walk around the little block and see the amazingly colourful street art on every bit of space here. You will always find lots of tourists taking photos and you may see an artist putting up some fresh work, which was the case while we were there. The artists have been very creative. Even the waste bins are painted! Haven’t seen that before! One of the many interesting things in Melbourne!

DSC_2996

DSC_2994

DSC_2997

DSC_3000

Styling:  white ankle boots: Jil Sander, brooch: from closed down fabric store, diamond studded ring: Lovisa, square-cut silver ring: custom made, white leather handbag: from little shop in San Giminiano, Tuscany, Italy, sunglasses: Margot by Tom Ford.

8 thoughts on “Vintage Vogue Laroche 1951

    1. Thanks Meg. I thought the white dress with a very colourful backdrop would work well. Lucky that we got there early enough and the alley ways weren’t too crowded! Was difficult for Hubs to work with the strong morning sun. x

Leave a Reply

