Christmas Table Setting

DSC_1716

Just a squeezing in a short post (!) on my idea for a table setting for Christmas lunch or dinner. I have stuck with red just because our tree is decorated in red and silver baubles and my table wreath as well as my door wreath are also in red. So I didn’t want to throw something completely radical like turquoise into the mix – even though I love teal/turquoise for Christmas in hot and sunny Australia. Maybe next year again…

DSC_1707

DSC_1737 DSC_1741

I bought some gorgeous red roses, pink lilies, green molucca and white bouvardia from the local fruit and veggie store and put them into my brown pharmacy bottles that I use as vases. I have four of them so one bunch of each flower was enough to fill them up. As a base, I used the beautiful natural linen tablecloth that my sister brought back for me from Poland. They still make traditional table linens in Poland at very reasonable prices and even large sizes, which can be hard to find.DSC_1700

DSC_1696 DSC_1739

For Christmas and other special occasions I use our white bone china crockery and silver cutlery to give the whole table setting a bit of shine. I have used the same candles as on the table wreath and put them in some glitzy votives to add even more sparkle. Then I added some stars and baubles for a christmasy effect. To tie the napkins together, I have some paper flowers that I made out of white card paper. I put glitter on them and a thin ribbon through slits in the flowers to be able to tie them around the napkins. They have been used so many times and are still in great condition!

Only one day til Christmas Day to go now! In our time zone anyway!

DSC_1723  DSC_1732

Styling: crockery: Dibbern Germany white bone china with platinum edge, cutlery: BY Christofle, votives: Bed, Bath and Table, brown pharmacy bottles: Chef’s Hat, South Melbourne, stars and mini baubles: bought in Germany, napkins: paper napkins from supermarket, champagne glasses: Marc Aurel, water glasses: Rosenthal

 

 

Leave a Reply

